Adventures in Thanks-Living

Living the gift of life one breath at a time

Thankful for the Gift of Music

“Music does bring people together. It allows us to experience the same emotions. People everywhere are the same in heart and spirit. No matter what language we speak, what color we are, the form of our politics or the expression of our love and our faith, music proves: We are the same.”   ~ John Denver ~

I am thankful for the gift of music. In fact, I couldn’t imagine a life without music. My musical tastes are eclectic; I listen to jazz, blues, alternative, classical, rock, show tunes, bluegrass, big band, and more. I can find something enjoyable about virtually every musical genre.

Music is powerful. The right song can spur a team to victory, cause a person to dissolve in tears, or evoke a vivid memory.  I’ve been humming Adele tunes off and on all night, and my husband is listening to Angels, a classic Windham Hill CD.

On winter days I often listen to Jean Sibelius’ stirring tone poem Finlandia. I’m also fond of Dvorak. Here’s a link to Humoresque No. 7 in G Flat Major you might enjoy. I was a music major as an undergraduate, and one of my favorite works played in recital was Robert Schumann’s Kinderszenen Op 15. Here’s one last classical selection I adore, Chopin’s Etude Op 10 No. 4 (played here by Valentina Lisitsa). Enjoy!

Two of the most profound musical experiences I’ve had to date happened in Chicago at the Festival of Homiletics. The first simply involved hearing so many voices singing hymns in the sanctuary of Second Presbyterian Church. The second experience was hearing Andy Tecson and the Chicago Jazz Mass Ensemble play in worship. Talk about holy ground!

I could talk about music all night, but it’s late. I think I’ll go put David “Fathead” Newman’s The Blessing on the iPod and wind down for sleep to the mellow sounds of “As Time Goes By.”

How about you? What genres and artists inspire you?

Photo by esc651 used under Creative Commons License. Thanks!

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

