Adventures in Thanks-Living

Living the gift of life one breath at a time

How Much Time Does God Get?

Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before him; God is a refuge for us. –Psalm 62:8

Sometimes I wonder…the One who knows me the best, the One who always has my back, and the One who loves me beyond all measure and reason is too often the one with whom I spend the least amount of “quality” time. And no, I’m not talking about my wonderful husband (although we do have to be intentional about giving each other good, quality time and not the end-of-a-long-busy-day-totally-worn-out leftover time). The One about whom I speak is my Creator, the one who according to the psalmist “…formed my inward parts; you knit me together in my mother’s womb” (Psalm 139:13).

Why is it so easy to have time for almost everything but God? It’s easy to spend an hour or two a day in the gym or several hours a week involved in a civic club, our children’s sports events, or (fill in the blank), yet spending an hour or two on Sunday in worship and Christian education can feel like a chore. When faced with the choice of reading the Bible or a NY Times bestseller, what often wins? I’ll admit it…the book of Judges or the Jon Stewart Show, Matthew or The Mentalist…sometimes the choice is not so clear cut.

And prayer. Most folks can talk for an hour or more to a best friend or family member, but to pray for an hour? This relationship with God thing can be tough to cultivate sometimes. It takes effort and dedication, an investment of time and love. All relationships take time and effort, commitment and care if they are to flourish and grow.

The thing about the Divine One is that God desires good for us, is patient, forgiving, and kind to us. Even when we break God’s heart repeatedly, God doesn’t give up on us. The Lord of the Universe who proclaimed all of creation good has arms wider that our biggest hurt, love that exceeds our wildest dreams, and is a refuge from anything the world can throw at us.

Today I am thankful for an awesome God who is trustworthy, with whom I can be myself no matter how awkward or inadequate I may feel, and whose love does not depend on anything I can say or do or not say or fail to do. Truly, I can pour my heart out to the architect of the heavens and designer of the cosmos, and even my puniest most pathetic whimper is heard and counted as worthy. Thank you, God. Thank you.

For Further Reflection

Give God some time today. Write your Creator a thank you letter. Sing to God. Dance like David before the Lord of the Dance.  Praise God in whatever way you feel moved to do so. Read Psalm 62 and give thanks for the goodness and grace of the Divine One.

Photo by Dave Stokes used under Creative Commons License. Thanks!

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

