Adventures in Thanks-Living

Living the gift of life one breath at a time

Day Seven: Thankful for Safe Travel

Dear daughter the younger and I are now safely ensconced in a motel near the university where she is auditioning tomorrow for the musical theatre program. It was quite a drive to get here; we encountered driving rain, thunder and lightning, standing water on the highway, and soupy, sloppy fog. Despite the weather and my overly-tight grip on the steering wheel, we arrived safely, and I am so thankful that we did!

Tomorrow will be a long, exciting, and potentially stressful day. Hopefully everything will work out for her the way she wants. We’re staying in the evening to see a college production and then driving back home (thankfully the prediction is for dry weather) with an estimated arrival time somewhere between 1:00 and 2:00 a.m. I’ll be praying for a safe return trip and some strong coffee.

Still no news on the computer, but thankfully dear daughter’s old laptop is holding out. I only received one hard drive error message today. I can’t complain. Life is good.

Three things to remember in stressful times: breathe deeply, laugh often, and pray frequently. Oh, and be sure to eat your veggies and drink plenty of water. Let’s see if I can take my own advice to finish out this hectic, stressful week!

Here’s how the 40/40/40 project is going:

Honoring Relationships

Today I’m particularly grateful for my father’s two sisters. My Aunt Dot and Aunt Pat are a couple of cool women. For many years they played piano and organ for their home church, and they have shown wonderful hospitality and caring over the years. I am so lucky to have them for aunties. Thank you, lovely ladies, for all you are, all you do for so many people, and for your strong faith.

Giving Possessions

Today I put two more shirts in the bag to go to the Rescue Mission Store — two gap long sleeve waffle knit shirts. They’re really comfortable, but I have plenty of other shirts to wear.

Thanksgivings

First and foremost, I am thankful to have arrived safely at our destination! It was a harrowing drive in some of the worst conditions I have encountered in many years. I am grateful to have this time to spend with my daughter. I’m thankful to have had the opportunity to sit and eat both breakfast and lunch with my spouse. Lingering over a cup of coffee and conversation is a great way to start the day.

What about  You?

What made you happy today? For what are you thankful? Who do you need to honor and tell how important that person is to you?

Photo by Yuya Tamai used under Creative Commons License. Thanks!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day Seven: Thankful for Safe Travel

  1. First of all, I was happy to go online to this Blog and to hear that my daughter and granddaughter had arrived safely to their destination yesterday, especially with all the news of tornadoes widespread in some states, ours in TN and also North of us. Thank You Dear God!

    Would like to honor my only child, a daughter, Sharron, for the love and concern she has shown to both her parents through the years, even though we have been separated by distance for several years. I love and admire her greatly for all her many accomplishments despite adversity in her life. Thank you Sharron.

Leave a Reply

