Adventures in Thanks-Living

Living the gift of life one breath at a time

Plumb Tuckered & the Friday Five

TGIF! It’s been quite a week with everything from computer failure to lack of sleep to travel. I am thankful to see it come to a close. All in all it was still a good week; actually any week is a good week when one is able to draw breath and be on the upside of dirt. That said, I am plumb tuckered.

Tonight we made homemade pizza, enjoyed time together as a family, watched an episode of the Jon Stewart Show (and laughed accordingly), and now are ready to call it a night. It’s pouring rain outside, and even the dogs are mellow.

Here are five things for which I am thankful on this rainy Friday night:

1.  I am thankful that even though it is raining, we are not facing horrific storms like other parts of the United States,

2.  I am thankful for the hospitality committee at Trinity for putting on a wonderful time of fellowship and food following the funeral today (I am convinced that food is love made visible and edible.),

3.  I am thankful I managed to stay awake and alert on less than four hours sleep,

4.  I am thankful that dear daughter the younger and dear stepdaughter made it safely to the beach with the youth group, and

5.  I am thankful we are a family of readers (both my spouse and stepson are reading right now, and I will soon be joining them).

How about you? Can you name five things for which you are thankful?

It’s Day Nine of the Lent 40/40/40 Challenge!

Honoring Relationships

Tonight I want to give thanks for the entire community of faith at Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church. Yes, using a collective noun may be cheating a bit, but when giving thanks, showing appreciation, and honoring relationships, it would seem that the more the merrier prevails. The community of faith where I serve as pastor is comprised of a fine group of folks who are committed to serving God, each other, and the community. For a small congregation that only worships about 36 on any given Sunday, they are an active bunch and truly do care about being salt and light for the world. Thank you, Trinity, for welcoming me into your midst and sharing the journey. I am grateful to be among you.

Giving Possessions

Ever read Lee Smith’s novels of Southern Appalachia? If not, here’s your chance to do so. I’m giving away my signed paperback copy of her delightful novel Fair and Tender Ladies. She has a wonderful voice, and this is one of my favorite novels. It’s time to share it. if you want it, please leave a comment about one thing you are thankful for today. I’ll draw a random winner on Sunday.

Thanksgivings

I know I already named the Friday Five, but I am also thankful for the lagniappe of an extension on a freelance assignment deadline. This was an important and quite unexpected gift that took a lot of pressure off of me in light of this week’s computer trauma. Thank you, dear editor!

Photo by Jessica Cross used under Creative Commons License. Thanks!

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Plumb Tuckered & the Friday Five

  1. Whose funeral?
    D

  2. I never read anything by Lee Smith but if my name is chosen, I will surely have a go at it and will ultimately share it with the other readers in our Wednesday evening knitting, crocheting, crafting group.

    I am extremely thankful that we didn’t need to go out in the downpour this evening and that it didn’t rain on Woody’s funeral today. Graveside is always wrenching but seems doubly so when it’s ugly weather.

  3. June on said:

    I am thankful for my loving husband who is becoming quite a little handyman. I am also thankful for having more time to read and to look up words like lagniappe. Maybe this extra time is a lagniappe that comes with retirement.

  4. 1. I’m thankful the tornado passed over us last night.
    2. I’m thankful for the beautiful sunshine we had today!
    3. I was SO thankful to learn that my daughter and granddaughter arrived safely home from their trip to IUP.
    4. I’m thankful that I’m still able to drive, most places that I need to go.
    5. I’m thankful for good books, I found time to read some today, a very good one, by a well known author, M.R. Dehaan, M.D.,The Chemestry of the Blood.

Leave a Reply

