Adventures in Thanks-Living

Living the gift of life one breath at a time

Odds, Ends, and Crockpots

This was a day of odds and ends, of laundry and errands, of leftovers and late sleep. All in all it was a very good day. If one measured the minutes in terms of effective time management, one might not rate this day a “10,” but then sometimes time management is highly overrated.

We goal-oriented, task-centric, highly-competitive North Americans like to measure our hours in terms of how much we accomplish and how many items are scratched off our bulging to-do lists. I used to go right along with the program, toting a day planner everywhere I went and reading Stephen Covey and other productivity and organizational gurus.

Now, however, I’m learning that productivity is not all it’s cracked up to be — at least by most traditional measures. What if we measured productivity in terms of relationships, in terms of rest and relaxation, and in terms of meaningful experience. How many people come to the end of their lives wishing they had spent more time with family and friends and less time bringing work home or staying extra hours at the office? Think of the people who worked just one more or five more or even 10 more years before retiring only to lose their health shortly thereafter.

The next time you find yourself faced with an “odds and ends” day where you don’t seem to accomplish much be the world’s standards, take a deep breath and embrace the moment. I’m willing to bet you can find something good in almost any situation, be it time lost in a traffic jam or hours spent in a phone stores. It’s all good. Just breathe, laugh, and live.

Honoring Relationships

Today I am thankful for the Sisterhood of the Traveling Crock-Pots. Yes, you saw that right — crock-pots, not crack-pots. This wonderful group of women in North Dakota combined leadership skills, friendship, and some mighty fine cooking in a savvy recipe for community betterment and relationship-building. To all my sisters — I miss you, and I miss those lunches at the Spicy Roadkill Cafe, Saturday night bingo suppers, community meals at Ostby Hall, and church potlucks. You rock!

Giving Possessions

It was one of those fashion moves that I should have thought through more thoroughly. Yes, it looked good, that burnt orange Eddie Bauer sweater, but it was longer than I like to wear my sweaters, and it was too trendy for my taste. In fact, I think I only wore it a couple of times in the fall, so it’s taking up space for no good reason. Someone will enjoy it and look good wearing it. In the bag it goes!

Thanksgivings

I’m thankful my daughter got her phone situation straightened out, and I’m grateful for the four AT & T technicians who worked hard to help her. They went far and above the call of duty, and now she’s happily connected to her friends around the globe again. I’m also thankful for a good supper of beef, red pepper, and asparagus stir-fry and homemade pumpkin chocolate-chip bread. Yum!

How about you? What do you do with an odds and ends sort of day? Are you content to forgo productivity in favor of living in the moment?

Photos by Marcus Carlsson and busbeytheelder used under Creative Commons License. Thanks!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Odds, Ends, and Crockpots

  1. On those odds and ends days, when I have no appointments, no special things planned I usually do not set the alarm,purposley, just sleep until I wake up naturally. Then I get up,dress and prepare a leisurely breakfast. After I have my devo time I then sit down at my desk and pull things out of a to do file and one by one try to take care of some of those things. I then make some telephone calls to friends and family that I have been putting off doing. Then sometimes I pick up that good book, that I have been wanting SO much to get into. Then I take my mile and a half walk that I have to sometimes forego because of lack of time. Oh how I love those kind of days!

Leave a Reply

