Adventures in Thanks-Living

Living the gift of life one breath at a time

Spring Forward? Bring on the Coffee!

I have a confession: tomorrow is my least favorite day of the entire year. Yes, I do NOT like to spring forward. Here’s the deal. I am not a morning person to begin with. My most creative hours are between 9:00 p.m. and 2:00 a.m. This kind of body clock does not make for a chipper early riser. Each year I loathe the approach of this particular Sunday morning because I do not like to forfeit that extra hour of sleep. Whose lousy idea was daylight saving time anyway? Oh, of course, thank you Benjamin Franklin–grrr. Click here for a brief history of the concept behind DST.

Because I am a pastor, I have no choice but to haul my sorry self out of bed an entire hour earlier and face the day. That said, if any of the parishioners with whom I serve are reading this, I apologize in advance if I seem a bit bleary-eyed in the morning. I am trying to find a reason to be thankful for daylight savings time; I really am, but it is hard. I’m not a farmer, so I don’t need the extra hour of light. I don’t believe that I save that much energy as a result of this time shift, either.

I suppose I can look at it like this:

1) I am blessed to have a working coffee pot and some good, strong, fresh beans to grind.

2) I am fortunate to be able to get out of bed in the morning with legs that work, eyes that see, and a brain that functions (despite the early-riser aversion fog).

3) I am truly blessed to have a vocational calling that I love and a faith community that is a joy to serve. Plus, we ALWAYS have coffee; it’s a Lutheran thing.

4) Spring is coming. The daffodils in the front yard are already blooming and the shrubs have buds. Soon I’ll be able to get the garden going.

5) Simply having time in the form of another day on this planet is a gift.

There now, I did it: I named five reasons to be grateful for that horrid spring forward DST morning. How about you? Do you like to spring forward or fall back?

40/40/40 Update

Honoring Relationships

Carol Roark was my high school art teacher. Just like Mrs. Coulter taught me to love words and story, Mrs. Roark inspired me to see and to create. She also taught a lot of life lessons, too. She practiced active listening, acceptance, and compassion. I always felt valued in her presence, and I looked forward to any time spent in her class. She truly cared about her students. Today I paint with words, but thanks to Mrs. Roark, I will always appreciate visual art and am able to see beauty both in expected and unexpected places and ways.

When I went to college, I actually spent my first semester in the same dorm room that Mrs. Roark lived in when she was a student at the college. Years later, we ended up in the same faith community. Finally, in another twist of faith, I was able to share ministry and mission with Carol Roark when I returned to my home congregation to serve on the pastoral staff. She is still the same delightful teacher, although she now teaches homebound students. Thanks, Mrs. Roark! You made a profound impression on who I am today, and I sm so grateful to you.

Giving Possessions

Today, in honor of Mrs. Roark, I am giving away the accumulated arts and crafts supplies that are sitting around gathering dust. Their purpose is to be used in the creative process, and that’s not happening sitting around in boxes.

Thanksgiving

Today I am thankful for artists, art, and the act of creation. Artists help us to see the world with fresh eyes and in new ways. All of us have the spark of creativity within us. Unfortunately, too many of us are told at an early age to color within the lines and that we have no talent. What a pity! I think I’ll go make some art today. Maybe I’ll write a poem, too.

Photo by Mike Licht, NotionsCapital.com used under Creative Commons License. Thanks!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Spring Forward? Bring on the Coffee!

  1. Hi Sharron:

    Thanks for the reminder abouting turning the clocks forward this weekend. I definitely prefer fall back to spring forward. Something about gaining an hour, rather than losing one, that is more appealing.

    Perhaps taking a sleep vacation tonight will make the whole spring forward thing more palatable. Read more about this here (http://thestillspot.wordpress.com/2012/01/25/do-you-take-regular-sleep-vacations/)

    With spring just around the corner (<2 weeks away), I will wish you a Happy Spring!

  2. Being a morning person, the Spring Forward time does not bother me, except I find it difficult to get to sleep at night at my usual bedtime. So, I guess it does bother the night or morning person. I for one cast my vote to leave the time alone, either one or the other!

  3. Last year i totally forgot spring-forward & went to the 7:15 am service (the only time manageable that busy Sunday!) – only to find church almost over! ooops. Hope God didn’t mind Too Much! : )

Leave a Reply

