Adventures in Thanks-Living

Living the gift of life one breath at a time

Thankful for Medical Care & Freedom to Vote

I’ll keep this entry short and sweet because in less than three hours I’ll be in the process of being prepped for surgery. I am thankful for a good primary care physician who determined I should have an ultrasound on my thyroid and follow-up with a surgeon. I’m thankful for the skill and care with which my surgeon handled the biopsy and recommendations to remove my right thyroid lobe and the suspicious nodule. As a cancer survivor, I believe in being proactive and taking preventative measures if necessary.

Hopefully, all will be well, the nodule will turn out to be a mere annoyance, and the surgery won’t transform me from a mezzo to an alto. Seriously, I am truly grateful to have access to good healthcare and good insurance.

I am also so thankful to Wanda and Bonnie, the surgical schedulers who were able to move my procedure back so that I can vote first thing before coming in to the hospital. I would have been devastated had I not been able to vote because I’ve never missed a presidential election since coming of age. If you’re in the United States, I hope you plan to vote today, too!

I have to stay overnight for observation, but I hope to be back tapping away on my keyboard on Wednesday night. I’m sure I’ll have a lot more to be thankful for when I get back home!

Prayers and good, healing thoughts are appreciated. And please, please give thanks for your health, for healthcare providers, and for insurance if you are fortunate enough to have it. Peace and blessing!

Photo by Lucid Nightmare. Thanks!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Thankful for Medical Care & Freedom to Vote

  1. Sharron – blessings on the surgical procedure & recovery. I, too, have never missed voting in a Presidential election, even when living overseas for many years.

    Grace, Peace & Prayers – Virginia : )

  2. Karen Utt on said:

    God bless you Sharron!

  3. Reniva R. Riessinger on said:

    Yes, we are all thankful for good doctors and nurses and other healthcare workers, all very special people. However, we are most thankful for the Great healer, our Heavenly Father!

Leave a Reply

