Adventures in Thanks-Living

Living the gift of life one breath at a time

No Place Like Home

How wonderful one’s own bed can feel! Not that the hospital bed was uncomfortable–I actually slept pretty well all things considered, and all the caregivers were excellent. Still, it was good to get home this afternoon.  It was relaxing and fun to sit at the dinner table with my family, although I had a tough time not laughing and straining my neck.

Yes, the blessings of a soft bed with fluffy pillows, potato, chive,and sharp cheddar soup with homemade breads, and being with the ones I love are not to be taken for granted. Fresh coffee, a refrigerator and pantry full of good, healthy food, and plenty of heat and light are blessings indeed. Oh, and I’m quite sure a hot shower will be counted among my blessings when I can finally take one! Have to let that surgical wound heal a bit more, you know.

It’s amazing to me how easy it is to take the basics for granted, at least this thought crossed my morphine-muddled mind several times yesterday.  Simply shuffling across the room while “dancing” with the caddy that held my IV bag or attempting to eat the delicious crab cake on my dinner tray despite a raw throat provided opportunities to reflect on the ordinary blessings of walking and chewing. Even something as simple as blowing in the respiratory therapy device brought to mind that every breath is a gift of God.

My situation is miniscule compared to those being faced by so many other folks right now. I think of people who are facing life-threatening illnesses, devastation from Superstorm Sandy, or economic calamity. Boy howdy, I am lucky. Even if I get a not-so-nice report on the nodule biopsy, I’ll still count myself in pretty good shape because I have access to good healthcare, a loving family, and a broad network of support. Most of all, I have faith in a loving and generous Creator who proclaimed everything good and desires good for all of us.

One final blessing I’ll share with you is Nurse Andi. She was an awesome nurse–patient, kind, efficient. I kept thinking she looked familiar but couldn’t quite place her face with a context. Today, on the ride home, I remembered. She was a student in one of my freshman English classes at the local community college several years ago. How cool to see that a good student has turned into a most capable healthcare professional.  That one small connection was a true blessing. You never know when something in your life will come full circle.

Off to follow Dr. McKee’s orders–rest, rest, and more rest! And blessings abound.

So how about you, friend? What about your home has been a blessing to you today? What have you taken for granted? What can you do to be a blessing to someone else right now?

Photos by sblezard and Valerie Everett.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “No Place Like Home

  1. I’m happy to have come across your blog! I appreciate the perspective you have. My family is dealing with cancer – my husband has advanced stage four and we have three kids – but my blogging is largely about our wonderful life. Our garden, our non-profit, canning, parenting, community… our gratitude. Most blogs are concentrated on specific topics, but lives aren’t – mine certainly isn’t. Like I said, I like what you have to say. Take care! -Adrienne (muddy feet memoirs)

    • Thanks, Adrienne! I appreciate the way you think. Much of life is beyond our control, but no one can sap us of joy, hope, love, laughter, and the present moment. May your peaks be greater than your valleys, and my each breath bring a blessing as your family journeys together. Peace!

  2. Reniva R. Riessinger on said:

    Rember that doctor’s prescription, rest, rest and more rest!

Leave a Reply

